Angels vs. Demons Blog Hop!

Published June 28, 2012 by admin

I knew when I came across this hop that I had to get in on it. I’ve always been fascinated by light vs. dark,  sinner vs. saint, and the fine line in between. Humans encompass both aspects and it’s a very legitimate leap for faith and the imagination to buy that there are things that are the extremes of each side.  Let’s face it: angels and demons both give us some really awesome lore to play with. It’s true that they’ve both become romantic heroes in their own right, but for me it’s the legends and mysticism that does it for me.

Granted, I’m more spiritual than outright religious these days. I don’t really believe in an ultimate evil – I don’t think we need physical boogeymen running around coercing us into things; free will gets us into trouble enough. But I do think that there are times when negative energy builds up and has a weird effect on things. And I do tend to believe that there is a greater good out there, something bigger than everyone that no one can really understand until we’re part of it.

But that’s not really what this is about is it? Angels vs. Demons…which is better? It’s funny because as a kid (especially a small-town girl growing up in a religious family) I would have automatically opted for the side of angels. They’re good. They’re kind. There’s something attractive about having a protective guardian there for you. They’re safe. People who know me well know that I get skittish around demonic terrority (though for me this usually involves more horror than paranormal fantasy/romance) because that lack of control and the what if this could really happen factor freaks me the hell out. Though admittedly,  I’ve always been intrigued by medieval literature/representations of Paradise and Hell because the images are so intense and the mythology is so freakin’ good. But I’ve always shied away from demons.

Until it came time for me to revamp my upcoming release In the Red. Suddenly I had a very real need to invent my own demonic hierarchy with their own reasons for doing what they do. And after I got over my initial hesitation…I will admit that I had a blast writing some of those scenes. Although I hope I don’t suddenly get hit by a bus before it’s published – my research files are filled with various lores and curses and demonic terminology and I’m sure my relatives would have a blast coming across that if they had to go through my things.

Anyway, I found that when I could do it on my terms I really like delving into the demonic. It’s not that angels are boring – because they’re not – but I think they’re harder to write in a way that’s new and eye-catching (Though I’ve seen it done. The Seraphim in Many Waters spring to immediate mind). But with demons there are so many ways to work with them. There’s something to be said for being able to just be bad and not have to have reasons. And for the most part demons don’t  have reasons doing what they do – which is fun and a challenge if you’re trying to make them believable. My particular group are into rock n’ roll and the baddest of the bad,  the main man himself,  is at the center collecting musicians for his own sundry purposes. And then there’s the whole possessed/cursed shoe plot which adds a whole lot more fun to things!

Here is the blurb for In the Red which is coming soon from No Boundaries Press!

What kind of a rock star lives in a small town in the middle of nowhere and plays at weddings and funerals? That’s what Jeremiah Kensington is thinking after an unsuccessful bar gig one night. But then Jack Scratch comes into his life, ready to represent him and launch him to stardom. Jack can give him everything: a new band, a new name, a new life, a new look, and new shoes…although they aren’t exactly new. They once belonged to The One, a rocker so legendary and so mysterious that it’s whispered that he used black magic to gain success. But what does Jeremiah care about urban legend? It’s probably just coincidence that the shoes make him dance better than anyone, even if it doesn’t always feel like he’s controlling his movements. It’s no big deal that he plunges into a world of excess and decadence as soon as he puts the shoes on his feet, right?

 But what happens when they refuse to come off?

***

Until then I’ve got a few other stories available that you’re welcome to check out on the Available Now page. And why should you check them out? Because if you comment between Thurs June 28 and Sun July 1 you will be entered to win a FREE PDF copy of one of my e-book releases (Either The Other Man or Mooner)

So how about you? What do you prefer? Angels or Demons? And what way do you like reading about them – romance, fantasy, inspirational, paranormal, horror? What’s the best angel or demon story you’ve come across?

And now the rules:

Comment on my blog and be automatically entered to win a FREE PDF copy of one of my e-book releases.

We’ve also got GRAND PRIZES on this hop! Every time you comment on a blog in this hop you will be in the running for the following:

ONE winner gets a Kindle Touch 

 ONE winner gets a $60 Amazon or Barnes&Noble Gift Card.

So the more blogs you hit the more chances you get! Be sure to LEAVE YOUR EMAILS in the comments so I know how to get hold of you if you win my giveaway – no email means I’ll be forced to disqualify you. I will email the winner after the 1st – I’m coming back from Fandom Fest that day so I may not be alive until the 2nd or 3rd – please be patient. I’ll announce winners on the blog after the fourth because of the other blog hop I’m doing that overlaps this one – I’ll do a joint announcement in one post.

In the meantime – since I don’t have rafflecopter yet this won’t contribute to your entries, but if you feel you need more of me in your life you can keep up with me on Facebook and Twitter as well!

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to check out these other fab blogs in the hop!

1

Leia Shaw www.leiashaw.blogspot.com/

2

Carrie Ann Ryan http://www.carrieannryan.blogspot.com/

3

Lia Davis www.authorliadavis.com/blog

4

Guilty Pleasures http://www.guiltypleasuresbookreviews.com/

5

Marie Dees mariedees.com

6

Anie @ House Millar apmassie.com/blog/

7

Tempeste Oriley http://tempesteoriley.wordpress.com/blog/

8

Jenna Jaxon jennajaxon.wordpress.com

9

Eliza Gayle elizagayle.net/blog

10

Cari Silverwood www.carisilverwood.net/keyboard-fandango—blog.html

11

Melynda Price melyndaprice.wordpress.com

12

Margay Leah Justice margayleahjustice.blogspot.com

13

Angelique Armae angeliquearmae.blogspot.com/

14

The Jeep Devia www.thejeepdiva.com/?zx=887ddda2f8b4be71

15

Amber Kallyn amberkallyn.wordpress.com/

16

Close Encounters of   the Night Kind http://closeencounterswiththenightkind.blogspot.com/

17

I Smell Sheep ismellsheep.blogspot.com/

18

Deb Sanders DebSanders.wordpress.com

19

Buffys Ramblings buffy-kennedy.blogspot.com/

20

Naughty Nights Press naughtynightspress.blogspot.com

21

Fifer Hylton fiferhylton.blogspot.com/

22

Dark Haven Book   Reviews http://www.darkhavenbookreviews.com/

23

Wendy Ely www.wendyely.blogspot.com/?zx=64591f30eb104e33

24

Sandra Bunino sandrabunino.com/blog/

25

Heather Boyd heatherboyd.wordpress.com/

26

Harlies Books harliebooks.blogspot.com

27

Dakota Trace alittlebitofnaughty.blogspot.com/

28

Tracy Sumner Romance   Author www.tracysumner.com/blog

29

Erotica Author, Fierce   Dolan www.fiercedolan.com

30

Verity Ant BDSM   Romance painful-ecstasy.blogspot.com

31

Veronica Scott veronicascott.wordpress.com/

32

Patrica Snodgrass Blog patriciasnodgrass.wordpress.com/

33

Wickedly Erotic – JL   Oiler joiler.weebly.com/blog.html

34

Kharisma Rhayne www.kharismarhayne.com

35

Lee Ann Sontheimer   Murphy http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/

36

Tara Lain Erotic   Romance taralain.blogspot.com

37

Erotic Notions myeroticnotions.blogspot.com

38

Victorias Pages of   Romance victoriaadams.blogspot.com/

39

Adriana Kraft adrianakraft.com/blog

40

Malia Mallory abcsoferotica.wordpress.com

41

Dianne Hartsock http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/my-blog/

42

Gem Savid www.gemsivad.com/blog/

43

Book Lovers Haven taiyoutenshi.blogspot.com

44

Jessica Subject jessicasubject.com

45

The Ebook Reviewers http://theebookreviewers.blogspot.com/

46

Fayth Devlin faythdevlin.blogspot.com

47

Romance with Suspense,   Secrets lyndafrazier.blogspot.com

48

Madeline Sloane www.MadelineSloane.com

49

Suzzana C Ryan http://www.suzzanacryanromanceauthor.blogspot.com/

50

Do You Want Mayo With   That blog.dianalayne.com/

51

Wendi Zwaduk wendizwaduk.blogspot.com/

52

Megan Slayer http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com/

53

Mary Marvella www.MaryMarvella.com

54

I Love Shape-Shifters michelehart.blogspot.com

55

Michael Mandrake tabooindeed.blogspot.com

56

Stacy Juba stacyjuba.com/blog/blog/

57

LL Muir www.llmuir.weebly.com

58

Sexy Romance Stories www.sexyromancestories.com

59

Jennifer Lynne www.jenniferlynne.com.au/blog

60

Cynthia Woolf www.cynthiawoolf.com/blog

61

Diane Alberts dianealberts.com

62

KE Saxon www.kesaxon.blogspot.com

63

Linda Andrews lindaandrews.wordpress.com

64

Riverina Romantics riverinaromantics.blogspot.com/

65

DC Juris dcjuris.blogspot.com

66

Zrinka Jelic bondedbycrimson.blogspot.com

67

Linda Nightingale http://lindanightingale.wordpress.com/

68

Liv Rancourt www.liv-rancourt.blogspot.com

69

Starr Words starrwords.blogspot.com

70

Pippa Jay pippajay.blogspot.co.uk/

71

Tara Mandreino http://tjmanderino.webs.com/apps/blog/

72

Smitten by Bad Boy   Heroes http://smittenwithbadboyheroes.blogspot.ca/

73

Casey Crow www.caseycrow.com/blog/

74

All the Fun Starts   After Dark http://allthefunstartsafterdark.blogspot.com/

75

Realmantic Moments http://realmanticmoments.blogspot.com/

76

Saleh Janel www.selahjanel.wordpress.com

77

Zilah Anderson http://zillahanderson.wordpress.com/

78

Best Erotic Books www.besteroticabooks.com

79

Romance Book Club Blog blog.romance-book-club.com

80

Relax with a Romance serenitywoods.blogspot.co.nz/

81

Stephanie Haefner http://www.stephaniehaefnerthewriter.com/

82

Avrils Blog avril-ashton.blogspot.com

83

Tami Brothers tamibrothers.blogspot.com/

84

Heartthrob Haven heartthrobhaven.blogspot.com/

85

Carolyn Rosewood carolynrosewood/com

86

Natasha Blackthorne http://natashablackthorneblog.blogspot.com/

87

Romance with a Bite brendamdyer.blogspot.ca/?zx=5e573a77524b39a5

88

Sadie Hart sadiehart.com/blog/

89

Somewhere Between   Heaven and Hell www.janekindred.com

90

Gem Sivad www.gemsivad.com/2012/06/28/angels-versus-demons-blog-hop/

91

Ana Hart anahart03.blogspot.com/

92

Naomi Belina www.naomibellina.com/blog.html

93

Reading on the Wild   Side http://www.readingonthewildside.blogspot.com/

94

Diane Thorne www.dianethorne.com

95

Mary Abshire www.maryabshire.com

96

Stacey Brutger www.staceybrutger.com/blog/

97

Dani Harper waypastnormal.blogspot.com

98

KH LeMoyne fantasypoweredbylove.com/

99

Other Worlds &   Realities blog.skhyemoncrief.com

100

Heart of A Wolf www.heartofawolf.com/

101

Talk Supe www.talkingsupe.com

102

Smart Mouth Texan http://smartmouthtexan.wordpress.com/

103

Literal Addiction www.literaladdiction.com/angels-and-demons-giveaway.php

37 comments on “Angels vs. Demons Blog Hop!

  • Demons, please. And I love them in all genre – romance, fantasy, inspirational, paranormal, horror; heck, even westerns!! I love me some bad boys!! LOL

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  • Your book sounds awesome! I can’t wait till it comes out. The premise puts me in mind of Queen of the Damned. Anyway, I’m team Naughty & Nice (both)!
    molly(dot)frenzel(at)gmail(dot)com

  • I love Demons in romance and paranormal romance. One of my favorite Demon series is The NIghtwalkers by Jacquelyn Frank.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  • Demons are the ultimate bad boys, and I have a major “thing” for bad boys, so I’m definitely a Demon-snuggler!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com
    GFC: BookAttict

  • Woohoo! I love blog hopping!
    What a great way to discover new blogs and visit with old friends. Everybody wins this way!

    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.

    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Actually I would prefer something different in a way. I like seeing the different aspects and perspectives on both “species” In folklore, not all demons are evil. And in some depictions, not all angels have compassion for humans just compassion for what they are told to do. That is what interests me more. novels with a demon that is more compassionate, or an Angel who is a fierce warrior, Those are the kinds of novels that really perk me up to read it. Don’t get me wrong I love a bad demon, But sometimes I love to be surprised. So I can’t choose between the two but I do like different variations of them in romance because it’s stimulating. It’s not predictable.

    Thaigherlillie@yahoo.com

  • I love demons. I pretty much only read romances, and love paranormals. Thanks for the giveaway.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  • I like them both, but I prefer demons, especially those with a bit of a soft side. I particularly like Al from Kim Harrison’s Hallows series. I read a little bit of everything, but I’d say when it comes to angels and demons I’d prefer paranormal mysteries with some romance (why not have a bit of it all!)

    snhoveln@gmail.com

    Thanks!

  • I am not picky…I’m greedy…and I want them both. they are great in fantasy, paranormal romance and even horror! Thanks so much for the chance to win!
    Lisa
    yankssssrule08(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: