More about marketing…so you need help with promoting, huh?

Published September 18, 2012 by admin

I’ve talked before about the importance of publicity in the arts. If people don’t know what you do, then how can you make a living doing it? And yeah, I know the argument for creativity vs. profit, but at the same time…you do want to make a living, right? Promotion isn’t a dirty word. It can’t be, if you want people to know about your talent, your performances, your designs, your gallery exhibitions, your books, your albums, your interpretive mime dance troupe, your whatever.

I’ve been learning a lot about author promotion in the past few months, and like everything else, it’s overwhelming. It could be that I’m still getting used to proceeding with uber-confidence in this area, it could just be that there’s so much to consider, too.  You think only the big names have to promote? Bwahahaha…ahem. There are a lot of ways to do this, everything from yahoo loops to facebook groups to twitter, to blog hops, guest post ops, interviews, character interviews, giveaways, and a lot of other stuff.

I’ve realized with the release of my first novel that it’s okay to ask for help. At the end of the day, this is not my area of expertise, and I want to make sure I’m doing all I can, y’know?

With that in mind, I want to give a shout out to three companies that are very good and run by very capable people I’m very lucky to know.

First Rule Publicity is the brainchild of the trifecta of Jessica Lay, Kriss Morton, and Stephen Zimmer. These guys know their stuff and are specifically geared to the indie author crowd. You can check them out HERE 

Juniper Grove Book Solutions is run by Jaidis Shaw, who is not only a writer/editor, but also has vast PR experience. She’s already lining up an impressive list of clients and you can check her out HERE 

And, of course, there’s Jitterbug PR, run by Ali (certified in Event Planning and also a book reviewer/blogger) and Joshua (who has two marketing/business degrees and is working on a third). You can learn about them HERE 

You’re probably thinking “but things like this are a dime a dozen!” Here’s the thing. I don’t go out of my way to talk up people unless I have every confidence in their abilities. I’m also a very hard person to please (I know it doesn’t seem like it, but I am). Knowing all of these people in some capacity or another I can personally vouch that they will do a great job working with authors and marketing their work.

So if you’re an author looking for a PR plan, check out these choices and give them a chance!

4 comments on “More about marketing…so you need help with promoting, huh?

  • Leave a Reply

